The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has declared Abdulrasheed Abdullahi Maina, former chairman of the defunct Pension Reform Task Team (PRTT), wanted over an alleged case of receiving stolen property.
The EFCC issued the wanted notice on Wednesday, September 23, 2026, in a statement signed by its Head of Media and Publicity, Dele Oyewale.
The commission identified Maina, 61, as an indigene of Biu, Borno State, and appealed to anyone with information about his whereabouts to contact its offices in Ibadan, Uyo, Sokoto, Maiduguri, Benin, Makurdi, Kaduna, Ilorin, Enugu, Kano, Lagos, Gombe, Port Harcourt or Abuja.
The EFCC also provided its hotline, 08093322644, and email address, info@efcc.gov.ng, for information on Maina’s whereabouts, while asking members of the public to contact the nearest police station or other security agencies.
The latest wanted notice does not disclose the value or nature of the property allegedly received by Maina, the date of the alleged offence or whether the case is connected to his previous money-laundering conviction.
Maina was convicted by a Federal High Court in Abuja in November 2021 on a 12-count money-laundering case involving more than ₦2 billion. The court imposed cumulative prison terms totalling 61 years, but ordered them to run concurrently, making the effective sentence eight years. It also ordered Maina to refund ₦1 billion to the Federal Government.
The Court of Appeal upheld his conviction and eight-year sentence in May 2023.
The Nigerian Correctional Service later said Maina was released from Kuje Correctional Centre on February 25, 2025, after qualifying for statutory remission based on his conduct in prison. The service said his sentence had begun from October 25, 2019, the date of his arrest.
Maina has also featured in recent investigations into properties linked to Nigerian public officials abroad. A September 22, 2026 investigation by Premium Times, based on a report by the Platform to Protect Whistleblowers in Africa (PPLAAF) and the Anti-Corruption Data Collective (ACDC), identified Maina among former Nigerian officials linked to properties in the United States.
An earlier investigation published on January 30, 2026 by PPLAAF, in partnership with the Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) and Premium Times, had linked properties in the United States and Dubai to Maina.
However, the EFCC’s September 23, 2026 wanted notice does not state that the alleged stolen property in the new case refers to any of those properties.
The declaration therefore opens a new chapter in the EFCC’s investigations involving the former pension reform official, who has previously been convicted of money laundering and served part of his sentence.




